Notes From an Online Sound Healing Summit — 6/16 — Matt Kahn

Parag Shah
3 min readMay 7, 2019

--

Photo by Raychan on Unsplash

In the sixth interview of Sacred Science of Sound online summit, Jeralyn Glass interviewed Matt Kahn.

Matt Kahn has authored two best-selling books: Everything Is Here To help You and Whatever Arises, Love That. Matt is a spiritual teacher and empathic healer. His YouTube channel has 11 million viewers. He supports and inspires them in feeling more loved, awakened, and opened to the greatest possibilities in life by inviting them to join the “Love Revolution That Begins with You.”

A few months before I watched this interview, I had come across Matt’s book ‘Whatever arises, Love That’. I did not buy the book or even read the preface because at that time I was experiencing a lot of emotional pain in my life. This and other issues had been going on for a few years by then and I found it hard to digest that I was expected to love the amount of pain that was arising in my life. When Jeralyn’s notification, about the interview with Matt Kahn, came to my inbox I started the video half expecting to shut it after a few minutes. But I was pleasantly surprised when I heard the real explanation of ‘Whatever arises, Love That’. I’m really glad I went on to watch the entire interview because it had a lot of gems.

So first things first — ‘Whatever arises, Love That’ does not mean you should love the pain or the people who cause it. You love what arises in your own heart. So if you have been hurt by someone, you will feel compassion for your own self. You will want to support yourself and emerge stronger from the experience. So you love the self-compassion that arises in your heart. You love the desire for strength and stepping into your personal power. This is such a beautiful explanation for love. We are not expected to love things that give us pain but rather the lessons and emotions for self-care and change that arise in us as a result of the pain. This change in perspective did not reduce my pain but it did help me get through a very tumultuous time in my life. Through his teachings (and others as well) I discovered the invaluable concept of self-love.

Matt also added that we should try and be fully present to loving whatever is arising in our emotional body in response to life. Being present to it and loving it is the first step to start healing it.

At that time, I wanted to do something for humanity. I was so steeped in the concept of serving humanity that I was often blind to my own pain. Healing myself felt shallow and selfish. But later in the interview, Matt helped me resolve that issue as well. He said that what we are healing, in ourselves, is our contribution to humanity at large. So self-healing is a win-win. We heal ourselves and as a result, we make a contribution to humanity as well.

Later they spoke about how we can work with sound to use intention mindfully. When we use words to express an emotion it may sound judgemental, but by using raw sounds we can get past all the verbiage and touch something in the deep subconscious to heal the emotions. Ask yourself: how can I express an emotion without using words to be judgemental? Make sounds that the uncomfortable emotions want to express. What is the sound of grief, heartache, anxiety? Complete the emotional experience of childhood and complete the healing.

I have been experimenting with this concept and would like to share with you a very simple exercise that can work wonders for your nervous system. Let out a sigh with the sound emerging from deep within your belly. Let the sigh be as loud and long as you want it to be. Do this a few times and you instantly feel the dissolving of deep stress. Do this a few times everyday to help soothe your nervous system.

--

--